Hella de Boon • Cat Morley

This week we get to know my subscriber Hella from The Netherlands.

Hella den Boon lives in a suburb about twenty minutes away from the center of Rotterdam, in The Netherlands. She is going to school but will have my final exams this year and found me about 5 months ago after joining Cut Out + Keep. Her heroes are Piet Mondrian and Audrey Hepburn, she listens to Red Hot Chili Peppers, Florence and the Machine, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin, and her favourite possessions are her owl collection and a treasure box.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I always dreamed of being a mother, because I thought that that is kind of your job as being a woman. Nowadays I want to study Celtic language and find myself a job that fits that. I would love to have my own tearoom too. I hope that I can have both.

Where should we visit if we come to your town?

Rotterdam has beautiful skyline but for me the love for my hometown ends there. I would recommend an other part of the Netherlands, Drenthe, where you can find beautiful dolmens. I am going to live there one day.

Where do you look for inspiration?

I don't think you have to look for inspiration, inspiration comes to you. Wherever you are there are ideas in the air. You just have to open yourself and let them hit you. And if that doesn't happen, I visit blogs. Sometimes I find myself watching blogs all day and my list of projects is getting longer every hour.

"I don't think you have to look for inspiration, inspiration comes to you."

What's the best piece of advice you've ever been given?

I am insecure about a lot of things and a good friend of me said to me that I should let it all go and I will find peace in my mind and I will feel perfectly happy about myself. It's kind of hard for me to do that but I am certain that it work if I open myself .

What would your three wishes be?

  1. I would wish that I could keep my friend close to forever. I am scared that we won't see each other again when we go to different universities. They are the best that is ever given to me and I can't imagine that there is a life without them.

  2. I would wish for a male friend. A kind of friend you don't do girl stuff with. Just sitting on the couch all night, eating a lot, drinking a lot, playing stupid and violent video games, watching the same kind of movies, yeah, I would love that.

  3. A house so big that I could store all my crafts and craft stuff in it. I already have figured out how my house should look and I'm certain that I need A LOT of space. Every piece in my house should be self made our from the sixties. That are my two obsessions and they fit perfectly together.

Check out Hella's crafty projects on her Cut Out + Keep!

Want me to interview you? Click subscribe and I'll be in touch: